Welcome to Blackbeard Armory and Range! TALLY HO LADS!

X

Training Classes

License to carry gun classes , firearm safety

 

License To Carry Classes

Our Texas LTC classes are taught by State certified instructors with decades of experience, your proficiency test is given on our SOTA indoor climate controlled range.  Making it a one stop shopping experience. 

Tuition: $70.00 per student for LTCs (this is a Group setting Class)

Tuition Includes:

  • 4-6 hour classroom instruction and testing
  • Range qualification & Range fee
  • Indoor Climate-Controlled Range
  • B-27 Target
  • Certificate of Completion (Form LTC-100)

Note: Effective March 1st, 2011, the TX DPS requires that all Texas Concealed Handgun License Applicants obtain their fingerprints from IdentoGO. You cannot schedule an appointment until the TX DPS has received your application.To schedule an appointment, call 1-888-467-2080 or visit their website at https://www.identogo.com/

Tuition Does Not Include:

  • Fingerprints; As of March 1, 2011 all fingerprints MUST be taken by IdentoGO
  • Passport Photos (no longer required if you request on your application that your current Texas drivers’ license photo be used)
  • Ammunition (50 Rounds Minimum)
  • State of Texas LTC Application Fees

Please bring to class:

  • Your state I.D., Driver’s License, or US Passport
  • Black pen & paper for notes

Obtaining a license to carry a concealed handgun in the State of Texas requires a minimum 4-6 hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety and covers:

  • The Use of Force
  • Gun Safety
  • Gun Storage
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Texas Laws Regarding Use of Force
  • State Licensing Requirements

Obtaining a permit to carry a concealed handgun in the State of Texas requires completion of the Certification Course, passing the shooting proficiency test at the range, and passing a 25 question written test. The applicant may apply and pay a fee to the State, which completes a background check and completes the issuance of the license.

You will be required to qualify with a handgun.

  • Bring your UNLOADED handgun and UNLOADED magazine in a bag or case. 
  • Bring a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition (new and from a major manufacturer – no reloads)
  • Bring eye and ear protection (if you do not have your own, we have items available for rent or purchase)

If you do not have a handgun and need to rent one there will be an additional gun rental fee and the ammunition used in the gun must be purchased from Blackbeard Armory & Range, or be approved by our range officer.

Please use the following link to the Texas Department of Public Safety website to complete your application with the state:  https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/login.do

After Completion of the LTC class, and After you have submitted your application, you will need to UPLOAD your supporting documents (LTC100, DD214, Birth or Marriage Certificates if applicable)  Please use this link to submit your supporting documents:  https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/

Basic Firearm Safety Training Class 

This is an introduction to pistol or rifle class covering safety and proper handling and use of a pistol and or rifle.

Tuition:  $65.00  - per person / per hr (this is a private class)

Course Description: The Basic Firearm Training Class is approximately 1 1/2 hour and includes classroom instruction, targets and shooting range time.

Course Requirements:

  • Your Firearm – you can either bring your own firearm or rent a firearm from Blackbeard Armory & Range.
  • 50 rounds of ammunition – If you bring your own firearm you can use your own ammunition. 
  • Ear and eye protection – you can either bring your own ear and eye protection or you can buy or rent some here 
  • State ID
  • A willingness to learn

Key Concepts:

  • Firearm Safety
  • Proficiency
  • Maintenance

Taught by: Tap Smith , NRA Certified Instructor , Texas LTC Certified Instructor